University of Port Harcourt

The University of Port Harcourt is a university in the Nigerian city of Port Harcourt. It was established in 1975 as University College, Port Harcourt, and was given university status in 1977.  In 2015 the University of Port Harcourt was ranked the sixth best university in Africa and the first in Nigeria by Times Higher Education (THE), a United Kingdom-based authoritative source for information about higher education. 

The university currently has ten faculties:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • College of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Natural and Applied Science
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Agriculture