Bogor Agricultural University

Bogor Agricultural University (IPB – Institut Pertanian Bogor) was established in 1963 with the view to strengthen food security, bioenergy and job creation, enhance poverty alleviation, and preserve the environment.  IPB's vision is to be a world class research based university with core competence in tropical agriculture and bio-sciences, characterized with entrepreneur values.

IPB presently consists of 9 faculties and 37 departments. These 9 faculties are:

  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Faculty of Fishery and Marine Science
  • Faculty of Animal Science
  • Faculty of Forestry
  • Faculty of Agriculture Technology and Engineering
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Science
  • Faculty of Economics and Management
  • Faculty of Human Ecology.

IPB pays much attention to strengthening international collaboration as well as national networks. Student and staff exchange programs, joint research and publication, credit earning systems, dual/double degree programs, etc. are among other activities which are strongly encouraged. IPB and the University of Göttingen have collaborated formally already since 1991.