Event: COP26 Catalyst for Climate Action Assembly on Adaptation at the UN Africa Climate Week 2021

Log in to use the Discussion Forums

Not yet a member? Register or log in to join the Discussion Forums.

napgn globe orange 1 - climate adaptation.

COP26 Catalyst for Climate Action Assembly on Adaptation at the UN Africa Climate Week 2021

EVENT TIME
5:00-7:00 PM (GMT+3) Kampala, Uganda 
2:00-4:00 PM (GMT+0) Monrovia, Liberia
4:00-6:00 PM (GMT+2) Johannesburg, South Africa
5:00-7:00 PM (GMT+3) Beirut, Lebanon 
3:00-5:00 PM (GMT+1) London, UK (BST)

 

In its role as the incoming COP26 Presidency, the UK is committed to better understanding the capacity-building challenges faced by developing countries, particularly those most vulnerable to climate impact, and to providing opportunities to share positive experiences and lessons learned across Africa and the Middle East.

This session will continue a series of COP26 Catalyst for Climate Action Dialogues designed to hear countries’ views on the opportunities and challenges—as well as build capacities and understanding among developing country actors—associated with preparing an Adaptation Communication (ADCOM) to the UNFCCC.

The ADCOM was established by Article 7 of the Paris Agreement as a flexible, country-driven reporting instrument. It can serve multiple purposes, including to increase the visibility and profile of adaptation and balance it with mitigation; to strengthen adaptation action and support for developing countries; to provide input to the first Global Stocktake of progress toward the Paris Agreement’s goals; and to enhance learning and understanding of adaptation needs and actions.

Though voluntary, developing an ADCOM in 2021 is a strategic opportunity for countries to distil, synthesize and report progress on adaptation as well as articulate their future needs and priorities.

As many countries are preparing their first ADCOM, this session will be an opportunity for South-South peer learning and exchange to compare approaches and share common questions among governments from Africa and the Middle East. It will also explore how countries are leveraging existing adaptation planning processes (including through National Adaptation Plans, Nationally Determined Contributions, and National Communications) to reduce reporting burdens and deliver well-coordinated national approaches to adaptation.

To learn more about ADCOMs, check out some Frequently Asked Questions.

3 posts / 0 new Last post
img 20211023 163421 1 - climate adaptation.

Is there a standard format to guide the development of adaptation communication

napgn globe orange 1 - climate adaptation.

Sorry for the late reply Kasanda! I suggest exploring the Adaptation Communication Drafting Assistance Tool (AdComm-DAT), developed by the German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ). It aims reduce the reporting burden to a minimum by providing a structure along the proposed elements of an ADCOM. You can register to use it here.